The Smithsonian Institution defines botany as "the science that deals with all forms of plant life, including mosses, ferns, conifers and flowering plants, and organisms formerly considered plants: algae, fungi, and lichens." This resource guide will follow that definition.
For immediate help on this subject and others contact the reference desk.
For SDSU book holdings check the Library Catalog [ http://libpac.sdsu.edu ]. The Catalog is the online tool used for finding books and multimedia in the SDSU Library. Books can be searched by keyword, author, title, or subject.
Library of Congress Subject Headings related to your topic:
To find and order books from San Diego area libraries use Circuit [ http://circuit.sdsu.edu/ ] (San Diego) or Interlibrary Loan [ http://library.sdsu.edu/borrowing-other-libraries ].
Use the databases below to find journal articles for Botany. If you would like to search within a particular journal visit the journal list [ http://library.sdsu.edu/guides/dbaz.php ]. If you are looking for a specific journal article, and have the title, author and journal information, try using the citation linker [ http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sdsu/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi ].
Journal articles, books, conference proceedings, patents in the life sciences.
Note: Allows for 10 simultaneous users
Journal articles. All disciplines. Allows one to trace a line of research forward in time.
Note: Formerly called Web of Science.
Two databases covering agriculture. "Books" is a catalog of books, audiovisual materials, etc.;"Articles" is an index of journal articles, reports, and book chapters.
Journal articles and books covering the taxonomy and other information on aquatic plants, especially the algae. Includes images.
Covers the Sonoran and Mojave Deserts in the US and Mexico.
Useful when struggling with a dichotomous identification key. Most terms are accompanied by an illustration.
Very close to being an encylopedia.
Beautifully illustrated with extensive color photographs and micrographs.
By Michael L. Charters. Gives the meanings of the scientific names of southern California wildflowers.
Will present a complete list and description of all bryophytes, pteridophytes, gymnosperms, and angiosperms found in the United States and Canada. Distribution maps and species keys are included. The first volume consists of essays on plant evolution, taxonomy, ethnobotany, and other topics.
This USDA database pulls together information from a variety of sources, providing names, distribution data, brief descriptions, images, crop information, and links to other resources. It include "the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."
Lengthy articles with bibliographies. While biased towards animals, there are good overviews of ecological communities of various areas as well as articles on plant ecology. Somewhat lacking in maps and illustrations.
Nothing else pulls together so much information on these mostly obscure (but fascinating) groups of organisms.
Good introductory material, plus keys, descriptions, and illustrations.
The "bible" for California plants, this volume continues the former Jepson Manual: Higher Plants of California. Additional material is found at the Jepson Herbarium website.
Started out as a guide to the fungi of the San Francisco Bay area and has grown to include the entire state.
By Jon P. Rebman and Michael G. Simpson. The fourth edition was published in 2006.
Michael Simpson's website for his SDSU class Biology 531 - Taxonomy of California Plants. Plant photos are organized by communities and taxonomic groups.
By R. Mitchell Beauchamps. Includes fern and fern allies, gymnosperms, and angiosperms.
A working list of all known plant species developed through the collaborative efforts of researchers at highly regarded research organizations including the Missouri Botanical Garden and the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (UK).
From the University of California, Riverside. A massive collection of well-annotated sites.
Fairly comprehensive listing of botany resources. Arranged by provider than by resource. Since it is comprehensive many of the resources are less than well developed. Maintained by Dr. Scott Russell through the Department of Botany and Microbiology of the University of Oklahoma.
Over 20,000 images of California wildflowers. Searchable by common name, scientific name, family name, color, or photographer.
A wonderful collection of Australian resources.
The main plant research organization in the United States. They provide a set of links to other botanical societies.
A rich collection of research resources and images.
A good source for information on the California flora.
One of the world's premier botanical gardens.
Our local botanical garden. Includes special collections for bamboo and "exotic" fruit and nut trees.
Known previously as CBE [Council of Biology Editors] style.
Numerous examples plus sample term papers for APA, Chicago, CSE, and MLA styles.
Citation management software available to the SDSU community.