For immediate help on this subject and others contact the reference desk.
For SDSU book holdings check the Library Catalog [ http://libpac.sdsu.edu ]. The Catalog is the online tool used for finding books and multimedia in the SDSU Library. Books can be searched by keyword, author, title, or subject.
To find and order books from San Diego area libraries use Circuit [ http://circuit.sdsu.edu/ ] (San Diego) or Interlibrary Loan [ http://library.sdsu.edu/borrowing-other-libraries ].
In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.
This site includes the following:
Find Your Representatives (by official or candidate's last name or by ZIP code).
Voting Records -- Compare what your representatives said during the campaign with how they actually voted on the record.
Biographical & Contact Information -- From their previous professions, education, families, organizational membership to their latest e-mail address, we gather it all.
Issue Positions (Political Courage Test) -- We test thousands of candidates for President, Congress, Governor and State Legislature with our Political Courage Test. The test accurately measures a candidate's willingness to provide voters with their positions on the issues they will most likely face if elected to represent you.
Interest Group Ratings -- Over 150 competing special interest groups, from conservative to liberal, evaluate your representatives. Look at what they say.
Public Statements -- The Project constantly collects speeches and public comments of the president, governors, and congressional representatives. Just type in a word, say; 'immigration' and all public utterances containing the word 'immigration' will appear. Compare what they said while campaigning in California a few years ago to what they are saying now in New Hampshire.
Campaign Finances -- How much money did your representatives raise and from whom? Just follow the money and then follow the votes.
This site provides links to The National Mail Voter Registration Form, a Voter Registration Frequently Asked Questions, the League Of Women Voters, and Voter Education sites.
Voter Information Services (VIS) is a non-partisan, non-profit organization. VIS does not support or oppose any politician, advocacy group, or issue. Our goal is to help interested citizens learn about:
*the effects of the federal laws enacted (or not enacted) by the U.S. Congress on our everyday lives, and
*the role of the individual members of Congress in the legislative process.
This California Secretary of State site includes information on Ballot Measures, Candidates, and Voter Registration, Participation and Information.
The California Voter Foundation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization promoting and applying the responsible use of technology to improve the democratic process. This site includes a Voting FAQ and a Map Series featuring maps of the state's political districts, regions and counties.
This California Secretary of State site includes the Statement of Vote (see separate entry) reports for each statewide election dating back to 1990.
The League is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization of women and men which never supports or opposes candidates or political parties. The Your Representatives section of this site provides information on:
Who are your elected officials?
Find names, contact information, and the date of the next election for each office.
This site site provides analyses of Ballot Propositions beginning with the March, 1996 California Primary Election.
This publication includes General, Primary and Special elections statistics. See separate entry for Election Results and Dates.
Numerous examples plus sample term papers for APA, Chicago, CSE, and MLA styles.
Citation management software available to the SDSU community.