For immediate help on this subject and others contact the reference desk.
For SDSU book holdings check the Library Catalog [ http://libpac.sdsu.edu ]. The Catalog is the online tool used for finding books and multimedia in the SDSU Library. Books can be searched by keyword, author, title, or subject.
To find and order books from San Diego area libraries use Circuit [ http://circuit.sdsu.edu/ ] (San Diego) or Interlibrary Loan [ http://library.sdsu.edu/borrowing-other-libraries ].
From the USGS.
useful guide to reading aeronautical charts. It includes all the updated airspace and symbology changes developed in recent years, and explains, defines, and depicts the legends found throughout all Visual Flight Rules (VFR) and Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) aeronautical charts.
Series of aeronautical charts of the world at a scale of 1:1,000,000 or 1:2,000,000 showing topographic features by shaded relief. Filed by chart number (e.g. JNC 35) in the Map Collection. The index is filed at the beginning of the charts.
Series of aeronautical charts of the world at a scale of 1:5,000,000. The charts are used mostly for planning purposes, and show airfields and topography. Filed by chart number (e.g. GNC 27) in the Map Collection. The index is filed at the beginning of the charts.
Series of aeronautical charts of the world at a scale of 1:1,000,000 showing topographic features by shaded relief and 1,000 foot contouring. Filed by chart number (e.g. ONC E-1) in the Map Collection. The index is filed at the beginning of the charts.
Series of charts covering the United States at a scale of 1:500,000. The topographic information consists of contour lines, shaded relief, drainage patterns, and an extensive selection of visual checkpoints and landmarks used for flight under VFR. Cultural features include cities and towns, roads, railroads, and other distinct landmarks. The aeronautical information includes visual and radio aids to navigation, airports, controlled airspace, special-use airspace, obstructions, and related data. Filed by chart name (e.g. Los Angeles) in the Map Collection. The index is printed on every map.
Aerial photographs & satellite imagery
Aerial photographs & satellite imagery
Aerial photographs & satellite imagery
Scanned images of U.S. Geological Survey Map I-512, published in 1966.
Displays an index map of earthquakes in the last hour, last day, and last week.
UCSB Institute for Crustal Studies
Maps of the last approximately 500 earthquakes detected by seismographs in southern California.
California Voter Foundation
Includes Congressional, State Assembly, and State Senate district maps.
California Senate
A map of the California State Senate Districts.
California Energy Commission
Includes Electric Utility Service Areas, Power Plants, Natural Gas Pipelines, etc.
Department of Energy
Includes maps of Annual Average Wind Power for Northern California and Southern California.
Complied by Professor William Bowen
A collection of maps showing the population, citizenship, income, poverty, and education for California. Also includes these maps for smaller areas such as Metropolitan San Diego County.
Authored for the California Geographical Survey by Martin D. Adamiker,
and adapted for instructional use in the public schools of California and Nevada by Dr. William Bowen
Provides a road map with links to some topgraphic maps in GIF format.
Downloadable region and city maps for the state of California
CFC Productions
UCB Earth Sciences & Map Library
A map of the stage lines.
From the USGS
Caltrans
Shows major highways.
DWR/CNRFC
Real-time maps of current rainfall levels.
identifies the towns and cities of these maps, their original dates of publication, and the latest years of changes made to the original maps.
Covers: Maps and updates made between 1950 - 1970. Includes black and white reproductions of the atlases for:
Reel 76: Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, and San Diego
LIBRARY USE ONLY
Covers: Maps and updates made between about 1884 - 1950. Includes black and white reproductions of the atlases for:
Reel 52: San Bernardino, San Bruno, San Buenaventura, San Carlos, San Clemente, San Diego
Reel 53: San Diego
Reel 54: San Diego, San Dimas, San Fernando, and San Francisco(part)
LIBRARY USE ONLY
information about fire insurance maps owned by other libraries.
v. 1-3: 1920-21 maps corrected with paste-on slips through 1955
v. 4: 1940 maps corrected with paste-on slips through 1955
Now in 3 volumes, this is the definitive English-language gazetteer of places and geographical features.
A good gazetteer with over 15,000 entries.
The GNIS contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States. It is our Nation's official repository of domestic geographic names information.
The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Imagery and Mapping Agency's (NIMA) database of foreign geographic feature names.
The Getty Information Institute offers this browsable and searchable database about one million entries.
Ref TN 24.C2 A33 no.51-60 (1957 - 1960)
Ref TN 24.C2 A33 no.52B (1961 - 1964)
Ref TN 24.C2 A33 no.102 (1965 - 1968)
Ref TN 24.C2 A33 no.130 (1969 - 1975)
Joe Crotts, CSU Chico
"This index covers the detailed geologic maps of California which are distributed among the fourteen irregular issued map and monograph series published by the United States Geological Survey."
"This index contains lists of selected geologic mapping in California prepared by the Regional Geologic Mapping Project (RGMP). The RGMP staff monitors the literature and collects references that contain geologic mapping that may be useful for future compilations. Therefore, this index is not a comprehensive listing of geologic maps of California. In an effort to cover each 1:250,000 scale quadrangle with geologic mapping, selected graduate theses and unpublished maps have been included. In addition, Division of Mines and Geology (DMG) Open-File Reports that contain geologic mapping are indexed. "
The most comprehensive database of bibliographic information in the geosciences. Established by the American Geological Institute, it provides access to over 1.8 million references to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present.
Provides information about active geologic mapping in the United States being conducted through the National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program. This program is coordinated by the U.S. Geological Survey and implemented by a consortium of geologic mappers from the USGS (FEDMAP), State Geological Surveys (STATEMAP), and academia (EDMAP). Note: California state maps from the Division of Mines and Geology are not yet listed in the database.
This online source provides a map index to information about published geologic maps as well as links to some available digital data. Note: The San Diego area is not yet included in the database.
1975. 1:48,000
Covers Del Mar, La Jolla, Point Loma, La Mesa, Poway, and SW 1/4 Escondido 7.5' quadrangles.
1963
1962. 1:250,000
1965. 1:250,000
1977. 1:24,000
1987
1996. 1:24,000
In 1977, the Fish and Wildlife Service began the National Wetlands Inventory (NWI), a systematic effort to classify and map America's remaining wetlands. Maps were created which could be used in a variety of ways, including land use planning, wildlife habitat management, water quality planning, soil and water conservation loans, zoning, flood hazard planning, and research.
The National Wetlands Inventory defines wetlands according to the Classification of Wetlands and Deepwater Habitats of the United States, a system that describes wetlands by soils, hydrology, and vegetation.
Build, search, query, and download custom digital maps and data in the area you choose. (http://www.fws.gov/wetlands/Data/index.html)
From the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Database to search for wetlands maps. Provides the date of the most recent edition of the map, the scale, etc.
From the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
This includes online access to wetlands mapping, information about classification, and other related information.
The US Notice to Mariners provides timely marine safety information for the correction of all US Government navigation charts and publications from a wide variety of sources both foreign and domestic. (http://msi.nga.mil/NGAPortal/MSI.portal?_nfpb=true&_pageLabel=msi_portal_page_61)
useful guide to the unique symbols found on nautical charts
Houghton Mifflin
Over 30 black and white outline maps of the world and various regions.
From the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Provides links to web pages with outline maps of various areas.
From National Geographic
Customizable one page maps
From the USGS
Please note this site is to be used for historical purposes only and is no longer being maintained by the USGS. Some links may be outdated and/or expired.
From the USGS
From the USGS
Online world atlas. Includes political maps, physical maps, and satellite images, as well as information about individual countries.
From Johns Hopkins University
This site provides maps of all 50 States and the Continental U.S. Maps include Shaded relief maps, County maps, Satellite images, and PostScript maps. Links to other resources are also included.
From the U.S. Census Bureau
Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography (http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/index.html)
From Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) Columbia University
An anonymous FTP site with maps of U.S. population density, housing unit density, and land cover using satellite data.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/)
From the USGS. Includes Imperial Valley.
From the USGS.
Searchable image database with maps and aerial photographs of the United States, as well as accompanying maps for the entire world.
A searchable dataset of selected astronaut-acquired imagery of earth. Includes San Diego.
The core of this work is a gallery of space imagery consisting of 237 plates, each treating a geographic region where a particular landform theme is exemplified. Commentary, photographs, locator maps, and sometimes a geologic map accompany each plate. (http://disc.gsfc.nasa.gov/geomorphology/)
From the University of Texas at Austin
Contains a large collection of electronic maps, including historical and thematic maps.
Natural Earth is a public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales. Featuring tightly integrated vector and raster data, with Natural Earth you can make a variety of visually pleasing, well-crafted maps with cartography or GIS software. (http://www.naturalearthdata.com/)
SANDAG employs sophisticated geographic information systems, a marriage of maps and computers, to help planners and decision-makers visualize real-world phenomena. (http://www.sandag.org/index.asp?classid=21&fuseaction=home.classhome)
Citation management software available to the SDSU community.