San Diego

Featured resource

Center for Women's Studies and Services, 1947-1997 (26.00 linear ft.) [ MS-0036 LA 4410, Special Collections and University Archives ]
[ ]

Established in 1969, the Center for Women’s Studies and Services (CWSS) is a multi-dimensional and non-profit organization that maintains educational, cultural, political, and service programs. CWSS is dedicated to advancing the cause of women’s rights and has a nationwide membership open to men and women. It was the first women’s liberation group in San Diego and the first women’s center in Southern California. The Center has actively participated in a variety of feminist, social service and inter-movement coalitions, and served as headquarters for the National Feminist Therapists' Association. CWSS is comprised of four major components: academic; storefront and feminist counseling; publications, education and culture; and special projects. Each component of the Center provides services and opportunities (via workshops, apprenticeships, consultations, and direct experience) for women to obtain first-hand knowledge and training in the areas of management, creativity, and control. The Academic Component was formed on the San Diego State University campus and became the first official Women’s Studies Program in the nation. The Educational, Cultural and Publications Component includes an annual Women’s Festival of the Arts, monthly Feminist Forum, community meetings, and publication of materials by and about women. CWSS became the Center for Community Solutions in 1996. The collection contains the administrative and programmatic files of the Center for Women's Studies and Services (CWSS). It includes reports, budget material, meeting minutes, press releases, newsletters, journals, flyers, brochures, letters, and publications related to the work of CWSS.

Research assistance

Reference Desk
General Research Assistance
Location: 1st Floor Library Addition
Phone: (619) 594-6728
eref AT rohan DOT sdsu DOT edu
Special Collections and University Archives
Special Collections Research Assistance
Location: 4th Floor Library Addition
Phone: (619) 594-6791
scref AT rohan DOT sdsu DOT edu