Comparison Table for EndNote Web, Mendeley & Zotero

This table provides an overview of frequently used features. For more comprehensive comparisons, consult the resources listed below the table.


EndNote Web
Mendeley
Zotero
Cost
Free
Free
Free
PC, Mac, or other operating system
web-based; all systems
web-based and desktop; Windows, Mac OS X and Linux
web-based; all systems
Works on Library computers
Yes
Yes for collecting & managing citations with web version only; No for using the "Cite While You Write" feature
No
Browser
all
all
Firefox extension only
Access after I leave SDSU Must be current student, faculty or staff Yes Yes
Works directly with word processors (MS Word, OpenOffice) to format in-text citations and generate a reference list MS Word
MS Word, OpenOffice, Google Docs
MS Word, OpenOfffice, Google Docs
Direct import/export from databases
Yes
Yes, list of databases supported
Yes, list of databases supported
Capture information from web pages
Yes
Yes
Yes
Citations styles
APA, Chicago, CSE/CBE, MLA, more
APA, Chicago, MLA, more?
APA, Chicago, CSE/CBE, MLA, more
File format for references
DOC, RTF, TXT, HTML
DOC, RTF, TXT, ODT, RSS, embeddable HTML widget
DOC, RTF, HTML, RSS (beta)
Number of records
10,000
unlimited?
unlimited?
Detect duplicate records
Yes
Yes
No; future version
Location of records
On EndNote web server
Your desktop and Mendeley server
Your desktop or USB drive; can sync to Zotero server
Share references with others
Yes, with other EndNote users
Yes, with up to 10 people
Yes, can create public and private groups

For a more comprehensive comparison consult the following resources.

Citation Managers Comparison, University of Wisconsin Libraries
Includes Refworks, EndNote Web, EndNote Desktop and Zotero.

Bibliographic Management Software:á Help and Tutorials, University Of California Berkeley Library
Includes Zotero, Mendeley and EndNote Desktop.

Comparison of reference management software, Wikipedia
Comprehensive and well maintained comparison of free and fee-based software.

Bibliography Management Software, UniversitÓ degli studi di Perugia (Italy)
It is in English.

Posted: 2010-03-16