About the SDSU Library Comic Arts Committee

The San Diego State University Library Comic Arts Committee was formed in fall 2011 by Dean Gale Etschmaier. The committee aims to raise awareness of the comic arts in higher education, to coordinate campus efforts surrounding comics and related media, and to work with the broader San Diego community in support of the comic arts. By 2014, members of the committee had integrated comics-related projects into their regular job assignments. The committee now meets a couple times a semester to make decisions on purchases for the library's circulating collection and to plan an annual event for Will Eisner Week.

Committee Members
Anna Culbertson, Special Collections and University Archives Librarian
Pamela Jackson, Head of Information Literacy; TV, Film, Theatre, New Media, Comic Arts Librarian
Markel Tumlin (Chair), Reference Librarian, English & American Literature
Wil Weston, Head of Collection Development and Monographs Cataloging

Past Committee Members
Michael Lapins, Media Center Supervisor
Katie Stapko, SDSU Graduate Student, Master of Fine Arts with an emphasis on graphic design
Roberta Niederjohn, Marketing and Communications Specialist (2011-12)
Robert Ray, Special Collections and University Archives Division Head (2011-12)
Jonathan Valdez, SDSU Graduate Student, Master of Arts in Liberal Arts and Sciences (2011-12)