For SDSU book holdings check the Library Catalog. The Catalog is the online tool used for finding books and multimedia in the SDSU Library. Books can be searched by keyword, author, title, or subject.
A. United States
- American Decades: Primary Sources [ E 169.1 .A471977 2004 Reference ] 10 vols.; covers 1900-1999.
An accompanying set of primary documents to supplement the essays in American Decades.
- Historic Documents of ... [ E 839.5 .H57 Reference ] 1972 to present.
Presents key events of the year with both introductory essays and primary documents.
- Annals of America [ E 173 .A793 Reference and Compact Shelf/B ]
19 volume set covering 1493-1968. Includes illustrations, legal documents, and speeches.
- American Nation: Primary Sources [ E173 .A474 2008 Reference ]
Collection of selected primary sources begins at the Civil War.
- Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents [ E173 .E54 2004 Reference ] 3 vols.
Includes political speeches, Supreme Court rulings, and a few important religious and fictional texts.
- A More Perfect Union: Documents in U. S. History [ E173 .M84 2009 3rd floor ]
A wealth of political and diplomatic primary sources, from pre-Revolution to Upton Sinclair.
B. Ancient World
- Greek and Roman Source Books [ http://library.sdsu.edu/guides/resourcelink.php?id=3556 ]
Collections of primary source documents related to Greek and Roman government, religion, education, social life, and more.
- The Hellenistic World from Alexander to the Roman Conquest: A Selection of Ancient Sources in Translation [ DF235.A1 H44 2006 3rd floor ]
C. Latin America
- Consider the Source: Documents in Latin American History
- Mexican History: A Primary Source Reader [ F1203 .M49 2010 3rd floor ]
- Ages of Woman, Ages of Man: Sources in European Social History, 1400-1750 [ D5.5 .A34 2002 3rd floor ]
E. Digital Book Collections
- The Internet Archive [ http://library.sdsu.edu/guides/resourcelink.php?id=1017 ]
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.
- HathiTrust Digital Library [ http://library.sdsu.edu/guides/resourcelink.php?id=2574 ]
A digital library, offering the full-text of books and other print library materials, formed by a partnership of academic research libraries. NOTE: SDSU Library users have search and preview access only. Full-text access is only available for works deemed to be in the public domain in the United States of America.
- Google Book Search [ http://library.sdsu.edu/guides/resourcelink.php?id=889 ]
Searches the full text of books. Best results come from searching phrases.
Note: Use the "Find in a Library" link to see if SDSU owns the book. The SDSU zip code is 92182.