For immediate help on this subject and others contact the reference desk.
For SDSU book holdings check the Library Catalog [ http://libpac.sdsu.edu ]. The Catalog is the online tool used for finding books and multimedia in the SDSU Library. Books can be searched by keyword, author, title, or subject.
Library of Congress Subject Headings related to your topic:
To find and order books from San Diego area libraries use Circuit [ http://circuit.sdsu.edu/ ] (San Diego) or Interlibrary Loan [ http://library.sdsu.edu/borrowing-other-libraries ].
A searchable database containing common acronyms and abbreviations about a variety of subjects, with a focus on computers, technology, telecommunications, and the military.
The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.
A searchable database of acronyms and abbreviations covering many subjects.
Basic information and statistics on a country's geography, government, economy, history, people, political conditions, and foreign relations.
Geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues all logically organized. Fairly current and includes a broad spectrum of data.
Studies provide a comprehensive analysis of a country's economic condition, political structure, social conditions and history. Statistical tables, photographs and bibliographies are featured.
Consists of separate sources of global information. Country Reviews are full-text reports on 191 countries around the globe. Country Wire provides global real-time news of these countries from major international wire services. CountryWatch Forecasts provides 5-year macroeconomic forecasts for each of 192 countries in both tables and graphs. Historical data is also available for key macroeconomic measures. Data is downloadable in spreadsheet format. Enter these resource through CountryWatch database link.
Note: CountryWatch functions best when using the Chrome browser. You may experience compatibility issues in Internet Explorer.
Concise information on all aspects (political, economic, social, educational, etc.) of nations; lengthy updates on politics and foreign relations of each country.
A searchable online version of the Information Please Almanac as well as the Columbia Encyclopedia (fifth edition), and Random House Webster's College Dictionary.
Online version of The Old Farmer's Almanac, which includes weather, tides, and other seasonal information.
Searchable by name, occupation, sex, birth date, death date, birthplace, and keyword. Does not list any living people.
Index to biographical sketches in over 35 current and retrospective biographical works.
Complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on U.S. and international authors.
Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the following biographies:
Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2nd ed., 23v, 2004
Notable Sports Figures, 4v, 2003
Biographical information on artists, definitions of art terms and artistic movements, and digital images from four major art reference sources (Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.) Print edition of Grove Art at Reference N31 D5 1996.
Offers concise, up-to-date biographies on worldwide historical and cultural figures, from the Romans to the 21st century written by specialist authors. Now includes biographies of 59,102 men and women who died in or before the year 2010.
Biographies and autobiographies of children's authors and illustrators.
Searchable online version of the unabridged American Heritage® Dictionary (fourth edition).
Lists in one alphabetical sequence foreign phrases, proverbs, maxims and abbreviations frequently used in written and spoken English.
The essential guide to the languages of the world, comprehensively detailing languages in a clear A-Z style.
Definitions of terms in the field of linguistics and phonetics.
This substantial and ambitious dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.
This heavily illustrated, self-teaching guide to ASL-American Sign Language-is useful both for the deaf and for those men and women who teach or work among deaf people.
A Talking Tour of American English, Region by Region.
Searches multiple online dictionaries simultaneously.
Traces the usage of words from across the English-speaking world with etymological analysis, variant spellings, and pronunciation.
Searchable dictionary and thesaurus. This is the online version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (11th edition).
Provides links to online language dictionaries for a wide variety of foreign languages.
Collection of online reference books published by Gale.
"The Citizendium (sit-ih-ZEN-dee-um), a "citizens' compendium of everything," is an open wiki project aimed at creating an enormous, free, and reliable encyclopedia. The project, started by a founder of Wikipedia, aims to improve on the Wikipedia model by adding "gentle expert oversight" and requiring contributors to use their real names. We have over 4500 articles and hundreds of contributors. But we will avoid calling the Citizendium an "encyclopedia" until the project's editors feel comfortable putting their reputations behind that description."
Online version of Columbia Encyclopedia (sixth edition).
Searchable index of ZIP codes.
Online version of the 1901 edition. Over 11,000 searchable quotations.
Over 9000 quotes from 4000 sources.
Online version of Roget's II: The New Thesaurus (third edition).
A variety of search options are available to search this dictionary and thesaurus.
Converts from/to metric and imperial and US measurement systems.
Automatically converts between various units of measurement. Includes length, area, volume, velocity, flow rate, power, mass, force, energy, and pressure.
Cabell's directories online for Business, Education, Psychology, Computer Science, Health and Nursing.
Lists editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. Also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.
Volume 4 has a Geographic Listing by State/Zip Code and then they designate the status of the company R=Private P=Public. (San Diego County Library (SDCL) has information from this book in their database Business and Company Resource Center).
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information, inlcuding economic, demographic and government data on over 700 American industries. Whether your company requires a better understanding of market conditions and forecasts; whether you need a clearer picture of a supply chain, or whether you need to keep abreast of competitor activity in your industry, IBISWorld’s comprehensive reports will keep you informed.
Contains tables of key data for magazine audiences and product usage tables with extensive demographic information for a large number of product and activity categories. See the Boston University Mediamark tutorial.
Euromonitor International's reports provide business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries.
Note: Previously called Global Marketing Information Database. Requires users to accept a copyright statement.
Results from over 14,000 surveys and polls conducted by over 700 organizations in the US and over 80 other countries.
Note: One simultaneous user.
Extensive database on California and its counties and cities; reports on the California economy; and bulletins on state and federal policy developments.
Over 70 years of results from 150 survey organizations. This resource can only be accessed on campus:
Note: Provided courtesy of the SDSU College of Arts and Letters. Note an account must be created from a computer on campus in order to enable off campus access.
User friendly front end to data from the US Census Bureau, including Decennial Census (1990, 2000), American Community Survey, Population Estimates.
Social, demographic and economic information.
U.S. import and export data on more than 18,000 commodities.
Note: Access in library only; ask at Reference Desk.
Examples for Notes and Bibliography system.
Examples, sample papers, and a PowerPoint presentation.
Online version of the Chicago Manual of Style
Citation management software available to the SDSU community.
Specialized encyclopedias exist on almost any subject. These specialized encyclopedias contain articles and information on a particular subject and can be very helpful in starting your research in a certain area. You can search for a specialized encyclopedia using the catalog and searching for keywords: encyclopedia and (your subject). For example: encyclopedia and music, encyclopedia and religion, encyclopedia and culture. Many of the specialized encyclopedias are located in the Reference section of the library.