Home >> Events >> SDSU MFA Program Faculty Reading
MFA Faculty Showcase
Sep 23 2020 - 7:00pm

Please join us on Wednesday, September 23 at 7 pm for the first Hugh C. Hyde Living Writers series event in Fall 2020.  Faculty from SDSU’s MFA Program in Creative Writing will share excerpts from their latest publications and answer questions from participants.  Panelists include Sandra Alcosser, Blas Falconer, Matt de la Peña, and April Wilder.

This event will be virtual. 

Register for the 9/23 event

Sandra Alcosser‘s poems have appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, Paris Review, Ploughshares,  Poetry  and the Pushcart Prize Anthology. She received two individual artist fellowships from National Endowment for the Arts, and her books of poetry, A FISH TO FEED ALL HUNGER and EXCEPT BY NATURE, received the highest honors from National Poetry Series, Academy of American Poets and Associated Writing Programs, as well as the Larry Levis Award and the William Stafford Award for Poetry. Her four artist book collaborations with Brighton Press have been exhibited internationally and reside in museum and special collections including The National Museum of Women in the Arts and Musee d’art Americain Giverny. She was the National Endowment for the Arts’ first Conservation Poet for the Wildlife Conservation Society and Poets House, New York, as well as Montana’s first poet laureate and recipient of the Merriam Award for Distinguished Contribution to Montana Literature . She founded and directs SDSU’s MFA each fall.

Blas Falconer is the author of Forgive the Body This Failure (Four Way Books, 2018); The Foundling Wheel (Four Way Books, 2012);  A Question of Gravity and Light (University of Arizona Press, 2007);  and The Perfect Hour (Pleasure Boat Studio: A Literary Press, 2006).  He is also a co-editor for The Other Latin@: Writing Against a Singular Identity(University of Arizona Press, 2011) and Mentor & Muse:  Essays from Poets to Poets (Southern Illinois University Press, 2010). He teaches in the MFA program at San Diego State University. Falconer’s awards include a 2011 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, the Maureen Egen Writers Exchange Award from Poets & Writers, a Tennessee Individual Artist Grant, the New Delta Review Eyster Prize for Poetry, and the Barthelme Fellowship. Born and raised in Virginia, Falconer earned an M.F.A. from the University of Maryland (1997) and a Ph.D. in Creative Writing and Literature from the University of Houston (2002).  He currently lives in Los Angeles, California with his family.

Matt de la Peña is the New York Times Bestselling, Newbery Medal-winning author of seven young adult novels (including Mexican WhiteBoy, We Were Here, and Superman: Dawnbreaker) and five picture books (including Love and Last Stop on Market Street). In 2016 he was awarded the NCTE Intellectual Freedom Award. Matt received his MFA in creative writing from San Diego State University and his BA from the University of the Pacific where he attended school on a full basketball scholarship. In 2019 Matt was given an honorary doctorate from UOP. de la Peña currently teaches creative writing at San Diego State University and visits schools and colleges throughout the country.

April Wilder holds a BS in math from UCLA, an MFA in fiction from the University of Montana, and a PhD in literature and creative writing from the University of Utah. She is a former James C. McCreight Fiction Fellow from the Institute for Creative Writing in Madison, WI. April has taught creative writing at various universities in addition to working with writers one-on-one. She is currently completing her novel, I Think About You All The Time, Starting Tomorrow. She lives in San Diego with her daughter. According to T.S. Eliot she is the cruelest month, though she feels very mild.